//
you're reading...
Adventures of a Girl Reporter, Ankylosing Spondylitis, Australia, Observations

In praise of dull, colourless and boring

One of the hardest things about living with an immune disorder like ankylosing spondylitis is identifying the stresses which can lead to inflammation. That’s because stress can be anything from a cold, a couple of late nights… even a marriage proposal.

When you live with an immune disorder it doesn’t take much for calm seas to turn to choppy waters.

Since my last post the normal peaks and troughs of daily living have been tossing the Good Ship Baxter around a bit. They say the three most stressful things are moving house, death and divorce.

In the past month I’ve had to deal with two out of those three and I must thank the current Mr Baxter for his patience in not initiating the third. He has no doubt been sorely pressed in recent weeks.

The good news – the very good news – is that my ankylosing spondylitis has remained within manageable bounds.

It’s impossible to ever know for sure why flare-ups occur when they do but there is an obvious link between stress and inflammation.

Unfortunately, ‘stress’ can be defined as a cold, a couple of late nights, a marriage proposal (yup, that sent me straight to hospital with Iritis. He always has been very patient), or any number of little things in addition to the ones that make the usual lists.

If the past month has proved anything, for this little ankyspond at least, it’s the benefit of dull, colourless and boring. My strategy of eating well and sticking to a regular daily routine seems to have done the trick.

It’s kept my immune system in good shape and I’m pretty sure enabled me to sail through some troubled waters relatively unscathed.

But I’m tired, bloody tired, and have taken a longer break than I intended from my blog. Normal service will resume – just not yet. There are boxes yet to be unpacked and a beloved cat to mourn.

Further reading:

What is ankylosing spondylitis? (From the horse’s mouth) – A comprehensive round-up put together by Ria at her blog Cigarettes and Melted Chocolate

© Sally Baxter 2013
About Sally Baxter

Once I was a girl reporter. Now I'm an interested observer covering the past, present and future of journalism and whatever else takes my fancy. All views my own.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow Sally Baxter on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

From the vault

