//
you're reading...
Adventures of a Girl Reporter, Australia, Observations, Opinion, Social Media, Twitter Tales

I blog, therefore I tweet

My lurking days are over. Time to dive right in… just as the wave crashes apparently…

It’s been months since I dipped my toe into the warm waters of the Twitterverse and, after splashing about in the shallows I’ve decided to dive right in.

Inspiration arrived from two people I follow, @mfarnsworth and @Kimbo_Ramplin, each of whom this week contributed invaluable insights into their Twitter experiences and some sensible advice about how to use it effectively.

Eight observations about how I use Twitter

12 for ’12: How I use Twitter

The biggest take-home was this: Both Malcolm Farnsworth and Kim Ramplin have blogs. So do a lot of other people I follow on Twitter and some of my most enjoyable reading has been on their blogs.

And all I’ve given in return so far is the occasional retweet. It’s been fun but it’s left me feeling like a freeloading, friendly stalker.

For example, I’m a great, but non-commenting, fan of Grog’s Gamut. I recall a Friday when I was still very new to Twitter. I was wondering whether he’d posted that evening, when I remembered that he was out that night for #wonkdrinks.

It seemed like too much to know about someone I’d never met.

If I am to continue enjoying the Twitter experience, it seems only right that I should redress the balance and become a bit more than an interested observer.

I don’t know where to start, so this seems as good a place as any. I’ll share my week’s journey through the Twitter landscape, pointing out things of interest along the way. I will Blog and therefore I will Tweet. That’s the plan, anyway.

Except I’m too late! No sooner had I resolved to jump right in, when I came across this funny and insightful piece from Scott Fulton.

R.I.P. The Golden Age of Tech Blogging (2009 – 2011)

So, here I go – catching the tailend of the wave and seeing where it takes me.

© Sally Baxter 2012
About Sally Baxter

Once I was a girl reporter. Now I'm an interested observer covering the past, present and future of journalism and whatever else takes my fancy. All views my own.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “I blog, therefore I tweet

  1. Good stuff Sally, you’ve reminded me I need to blog more regularly !

    Like

    Posted by Vince | January 2, 2012, 2:51 pm
  2. Thanks Vince. Let’s hope we can keep it up.

    Like

    Posted by Sally Baxter | January 2, 2012, 7:38 pm
  3. This blog post gets a 2 thumbs way up from me.

    Like

    Posted by buywowgoldvis | January 19, 2012, 7:24 am
  4. kinda liked what you have written . it just is not that easy to discover great stuff to read (you know really READ and not simply going through it like a zombie before going to yet another post to just ignore), so cheers man for really not wasting my time on the god forsaken internet. 🙂

    Like

    Posted by wowgoldqpm | January 20, 2012, 10:11 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow Sally Baxter on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

From the vault

